Discover Coffs CoastNew South Wales is one of Australia's most diverse states, encompassing 1400km of magnificent beaches, fertile river valleys and hinterland areas, the winter playground of the Snowy Mountains and Mount Kosciusko, and the vast plains west of the Great Dividing Range. New South Wales is Australia's most populous state, and most of its residents live along the eastern seaboard.

Bustling Sydney is the capital of New South Wales, the birthplace of Australia and the country's largest city. With its stunning setting on one of the world's most beautiful harbours and a climate that encourages year-round outdoor activities, Sydney is also Australia's most visited city. From here, you can enjoy the crafts, cafes and historic towns of the Blue Mountains to the west. Further afield lie the wineries of the Hunter Valley, the lush rainforests of Northern Rivers, the popular coastal retreats of the North Coast, the vast plains of the North-west and and the charming country towns of central New South Wales.


6.7 million

Capital City


Area of State

800,640 square km


Much of the state enjoys a fairly even temperature with the exception of the north-west. In towns such as Bourke, temperatures in summer often hit the high 30s, and in the Kosciusko skifields temperatures drop below 0°C in winter. The state's average yearly temperatures range from 13°C to 22°C.

Time Zone

Australian Eastern Standard Time.

Daylight Savings
Clocks are advanced one hour on the last Sunday in October and go back one hour on the last Sunday in March.

State Emblems

Animal Emblem: Platypus
Floral Emblem: Waratah

Major Attractions

Sydney, Mt Warning National Park, Byron Bay, Dorrigo National Park, Hunter Valley, Barrington Tops National Park, Blue Mountains, Snowy Mountains, Riverina, the Murray River, Lord Howe Island.